Spending My Birthday In London

Cheers! And good morning/good day to you…After a brief two-day stay at the University of Worcester, I boarded a coach bus with the rest of our group and departed for London, where I’ll be spending my 22nd birthday.

Yes, I’m a year older and I have to give a shout-out to my mom, Vickie, who was probably the happiest person in the world as soon as I was born. I can’t begin to fathom what it was like for her when she went into labor. She’s a Saint.

Moving on…Yesterday, I met up with one of my professors and a handful of others in my group and we spent the afternoon drinking tea and visiting the historic Worcester Cathedral, where King John and Prince Arthur rest inside their respective tombs. I won’t bore you do death with details, but here are some snippets about King John.

King John was born on Christmas Eve in 1166. He began his reign 33 years later in control of a vast empire which stretched from Gascony in the south of France all the way up through large regions of France to England, areas in Whales and some parts of Ireland. King John is most famous for agreeing to the Magna Carta, which was a charter of demands made by John’s rebellious barons. When he died in October 1216, he lost most of his lands and was intertwined in a war with his own people.

The cathedral itself is full of rich and colorful history with multitudes of factoids explaining each and ever aspect of this iconic venue. If you get the chance while in Worcester, England, I encourage you to go visit the cathedral. It’s a must see.

Moving on…After a much-needed afternoon of relaxation, I got back to work. I watched Team USA Field Hockey defeat No. 2 Argentina for the second consecutive time. The U.S.’s triumph over Argentina evens their mark to 1-1-0 in the tournament with its next match set for Thursday against No. 7 Australia.

Moving on…You’re probably wondering what I will be doing in London to celebrate my birthday. Honestly, I’ve been thinking about that this entire trip. I’m not sure what I will be doing. Maybe I’ll go and have a nice dinner with some of my fellow colleagues. Maybe I’ll go see some of the famous sites London has to offer. Either way, I’m sure it’ll be one incredible birthday. After all, I’m in London covering the Olympic Games. Aside from being with my family, it doesn’t get much better than that.

Leave a Reply

