The Day After Opening Ceremonies

Cheers to you and good evening from London…I’d like to start this post by saying how exciting and amazing it was to watch the Opening Ceremonies in the host country. It was definitely a memory I’ll cherish for the rest of my life.

As you know, the Opening Ceremonies for the Olympic Games took place last night, which meant a lot of work for us during the day before being able to watch it live. It wasn’t shown in the U.S. until much later due to the six-hour time change (CST). We were able to see a lot of the fireworks and lights from the windows of our flats, which was simply remarkable. I was able to snap off a few pictures from a window, but haven’t had time to upload them. I’ll be sure to find time in the next couple of days to do so.

Moving on…The Day After…

The Olympic Games are well underway now, which means more opportunities to shine for us. I’ve been asked many times if the amount of work we are responsible for ever gets overwhelming or tiring and the answer is always no. With an opportunity to cover the Olympic Games, the workload over the next three weeks will never get too overwhelming. Sure it’s tough and sometimes frustrating, but that’s life. Get over it. Having the chance to write stories surrounding the Olympic Games and the athletes means more to me than anything.

Even with the heavy load of work we’ve been assigned, we’ve still been able to take in all of the sights, sounds and the overall atmosphere of London. I took my first-ever tube ride this afternoon, and it was quite the thrill. The tube took me from Farringdon Station to the Olympic Park in Stratford. I was hoping to be able to go the training session for Team USA field hockey, but wasn’t allowed inside without a credential. Oh well, worth a shot. Either way, I got a glimpse of the Aquatics Centre, which was very neat and saw some other cool buildings around Olympic Park.

I’m currently working on a few stories that I hope to have published in the next day or so.

Until next time…

-Poz

Leave a Reply

